Without Limits Challenger Tara Marlowe

Introducing our 2nd Without Limits Challenger from Charleston: Tara Marlowe!  Read a little about Tara below. We look forward to following her progress over the next 12 weeks as she takes part in the #WithoutLimitsChallenge

IMG_1328What is your overall background – age, where are you from and family life?

I am 30 years old and I was born and raised in Charleston, SC. I went to college at Lenoir-Rhyne University in Hickory, NC where I was a member of the women’s soccer team. Post college, I ran back into a childhood friend whom I now have the privilege of calling my husband. We have two beautiful boys, Kellan – 5 and Maddox – 2, and we currently reside in Hanahan.

A recap again on your new years resolution/reason for wanting to be a part of the challenge

My resolutions, or goals, for 2016, are to be able to run a sub 45 Cooper River Bridge Run, and to qualify for the Boston Marathon. When I came across the Without Limits Challenge, I through that this would be the perfect opportunity to work with a coach who could help me prepare a training plan specific to my goals.

Did someone motivate you to take the challenge, or was this a personal decision.

This was a personal decision. I love to run, but I have a hard time sticking to a training plan that I create on my own. And even though I know I should take them, I have a hard time taking rest days. So I am looking forward to working with a coach, following my training plan (rest days and all) and working hard in hopes to reach my goals.

Have you ever had personal coaching before.

No, I have never had personal coaching before.

Have you ever run the Bridge Run – if yes, their favorite part – if no, looking forward to the most/have heard about from others

Yes, I have run the Bridge Run for many years. My favorite part is the incredible view that you get of our city when you are going over the bridge. Not many races provide such awesome scenery for their racers. I also enjoy all the music and supporters along the race course.

Fun fact – something nobody knows about you, or hobbies

I enjoy spending time with my family and friends and being outdoors. I also love cooking! I love to experiment with new ingredients and to create new recipes.